UCPA

University Communications and Public Affairs

MENU

The Government & Community Relations (GCR) department serves as the primary liaison between UC San Diego and federal, state and local government entities on issues affecting higher education, research and health care. GCR also fosters relationships between the university and community groups and leaders to create a positive impact on our region and around the world.

Advocacy

Advocacy efforts keep our legislators, community members, and others informed and up-to-date on UC San Diego’s initiatives, achievements, and impact. Experts from across the university actively engage in collaborative and coordinated cross-campus efforts. This is integral to the success of our outreach and engagement processes. Join our UC systemwide advocacy efforts today by clicking here or contacting one of us below.

Government & Community Relations Staff Contact Information

Community and Local

David Mier
Director, Health Community Relations

UC San Diego Health
Phone: (858) 333-1657
Email: dmier@ucsd.edu
Website: UC San Diego Health Community Affairs

Denise Serrano
Director, Local Government Relations

Main Campus and UC San Diego Health
Phone: (858) 201-0715
Email: d2serrano@ucsd.edu

Irma Velasco
Director, Campus & Community Relations

Main Campus
Phone: (858) 534-6862
Email: ivelasco@ucsd.edu

Ian Clampett
State & Local Government Relations

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Phone: (858) 822-4034
Email: iclampett@ucsd.edu

Christopher Vallejo
External Relations Specialist

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Phone: (858) 534-9461
Email: cvallejo@ucsd.edu

Anu Delouri
Assistant Director, Community Planning

Main Campus (Campus Planning)
Phone: (858) 822-0150
Email: adelouri@ucsd.edu
Website: Community Planning

Alyssa Helper
Senior Community Planner

Main Campus (Campus Planning)
Phone: (858) 534-3860
Email: ahelper@ucsd.edu
Website: Community Planning

State

Kaitlin Chell
Executive Director, Government & Community Relations

Main Campus and UC San Diego Health
Phone: (858) 449-9737
Email: kchell@ucsd.edu

Ian Clampett
State & Local Government Relations

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Phone: (858) 414-1919
Email: iclampett@ucsd.edu

Federal

Angela Philips Diaz
Executive Director, Government Research Relations

Main Campus and UC San Diego Health
Phone: (202) 974-6323
Email: apdiaz@ucsd.edu

Loressa Uson
Government Relations Analyst

Main Campus and UC San Diego Health
Phone: (202) 974-6323
Email: muson@ucsd.edu

Kathleen Ritzman
Assistant Director

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Phone: (858) 534-4849
Email: kritzman@ucsd.edu

Christine Castillo
Federal Government Relations

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Phone: (858) 822-3370
Email: cdcastillo@ucsd.edu

Emmet Hollingshead
External Relations Specialist

Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Phone: (858) 822-0050
Email: ehollingshead@ucsd.edu

Additional Links